In The End

By: Tony Alonso

I try not to browse my social media feeds. While I love to see what family and friends are up to, and enjoy the occasional cute animal video, I can get wrapped up in false teachings. Not the glorification of sin, which is all over, but the subtle feel good statements. The ones that sound great, but are horribly wrong.

I was checking out a friend’s page, when I came across several images with inspirational messages on them. One showed a young man walking an elderly lady across the street and read, “In the end, only kindness matters.” While sweet and an act we should do, the logic was flawed. In the end, kindness is not what matters. Not even close. #fail

When this life ends and we stand in judgement, it will not be in front of a kindness meter. I won’t be crossing my fingers in hopes the weight of my kindness on earth crosses a certain number. I will stand in front of Jesus, my Savior. Judgement will not be based on any righteous act of mine, but on His ultimate sacrifice. For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is a gift from God. Not a result of works, so that no one may boast. (Ephesians 2:8-9)

Are we to continue in sin that grace may abound? (Romans 6:1) No. This is where kindness and many other attributes come in. As a result of being saved, I will be kind, give freely, show love, and much more. Next time you witness a message like this, remember that something meant to be inspirational can still be false and a lie. Guard yourself and be sure to check everything according to the Bible. In the end what matters is Jesus.

In The End

2 thoughts on “In The End

What are your thoughts?